BCL gets new committee


Asianbangla, Dhaka : The new Chhatra League central committee was announced yesterday, almost two and a half months after its central council meeting.

Rezwanul Haque Chowdhury Shovon and Golam Rabbani have been named as president and general secretary of the pro-Awami League student body.

AL General Secretary Obaidul Quader, on behalf of party President Sheikh Hasina, announced the names of the leaders of the new committee last night, according to a press release of the prime minister’s press wing.

He also announced BCL committees of Dhaka University, Dhaka metropolitan south and north units.

Both Shovon and Rabbani, hailing from Kurigram and Madaripur respectively, are law graduates of DU.

Shovon was a member of the previous BCL central committee while Rabbani was its education and study circle affairs secretary.

Sanjit Chandra Das and Saddam Hussain have been picked as president and general secretary of Chhatra League’s DU unit respectively. The two are also law students.

Md Ibrahim and Saidur Rahman Hridoy have been made president and general secretary of Dhaka metropolitan (north) BCL and Mehedi Hasan, and Md Jobayer Ahmed president and general secretary of Dhaka metropolitan (south) BCL.

The 29th council of the BCL was held on May 11-12. AL chief Sheikh Hasina, also the prime minster, announced that the new BCL leadership would be chosen through “negotiations”, not through an election.

She had asked the BCL leaders to pick new leaders through “negotiations”. Accordingly, some former and current Chhatra League leaders met on May 12, but could not reach a consensus.

A total of 111 BCL leaders collected nomination forms for the president post and 212 for the general secretary post.

On July 4, the PM held a meeting with 323 aspirants for the two posts at the Gono Bhaban.

As per the BCL constitution, the central committee will be performing its duties for next two years, while the DU and two metropolitan units for next one year.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here